Google
Kingston Concerned About the LVEC
Currently known as the "KROCK Centre"
Formerly the "Kingston Regional Sports and Entertainment Centre" or KRSEC
Formerly the "Large Venue Entertainment Centre" or LVEC
Home   News
Daily Points on Anglin Bay Site Traffic and Parking, #1
Concerns About the Content of Phase I

Beginning May 19th, 2005, Bruce Todd, who is supposed to be retired from a 40+ year career in traffic engineering, but nonetheless branded an "instant expert" by several pro-LVEC luminaries, none loftier than William Leggett, ex-principal of Queen's University, is briefing everyone about the field, pointing out "features" of the full Phase I Traffic and Parking Study prepared by CastleGlenn Consultants , who were hand-picked by Don Gedge for their "keen understanding of the Wellington Street Corridor" (pages 13 and 16 therein). 

Articles in the Daily Points on LVEC Traffic and Parking series

#1 - Concerns About the Content of Phase I (May 19)
#2 - No  Pedestrian Counts in Intersection Analysis (May 20)
#3 - A Discussion of the Two Adjacent Parking Lots (May 21)
#4 - Drop Off and Pick Up Mode of Access (May 22)
#5 - Display Maps (May 23)
#6 - The Anglin Parking Lot (May 24)
#7 - Reporting of Available On-Street Parking (May 25)
#8 - Determination of Mode of Travel (May 26)
#9 - Infrastructure and Management Requirements (May 27)
#10- Study Area and Study Data (May 28)
#11- Traffic Counts (May 29)
#12- Acceptable Walking Distance (May 30)
#13- Parking Availability and Key Factors (May 31)
#14- Clearance Time After an Event (June 1)
From: Bruce Todd
To: "Gedge, Don" <dgedge@cityofkingston.ca>, Councillor S Garrison <sgarrison@cityofkingston.ca>, Councillor R Downes <rdownes@cityofkingston.ca>, Councillor L Foster <lfoster@cityofkingston.ca>, Councillor G Stoparczyk <gstoparczyk@cityofkingston.ca>, Councillor B Pater <bpater@cityofkingston.ca>, Mayor H Rosen <hrosen@cityofkingston.ca>, Councillor G Beavis <gbeavis@cityofkingston.ca>, Councillor K George <kgeorge@cityofkingston.ca>, Councillor G Sutherland <gsutherland@cityofkingston.ca>, Councillor F Patterson <fpatterson@cityofkingston.ca>, Councillor E Smith <esmith@cityofkingston.ca>, Councillor S Meers <smeers@cityofkingston.ca>, Councillor B George <bgeorge@cityofkingston.ca>
CC: "Hickey, Sheila" <SHickey@cityofkingston.ca>, "Baldwin, Derek" <dbaldwin@thewhig.com>, gwallace@cityofkingston.ca

Date: Thu, 19 May 2005 07:21:56
Subject: [KCAL] LVEC Traffic & Parking - Item #1  

Concerns About the Content of Phase I

I thank all the councilors that attended the public meeting in Memorial Hall last night. I think it was a well-run meeting, and I thank Sheila Hickey for the superb way in which she conducted the meeting.

One of the things that bothered me throughout this meeting, and at the meeting held at Portsmouth Olympic Harbour on April 20, was the number of times Mr Arthur Gordon sloughed off concern after concern, saying that he would look after that concern in Phase II. That is just a convenient way of wiggling out of a clear and quantitative answer.

People have genuine concerns about what parking will be like for those wishing to come down town on a Friday night for a supper during an LVEC event, about what parking will be like when a concurrent event is taking place at the Grand Theatre during an LVEC event, about how people will find parking during the day in the downtown to attend a Trade Show at the LVEC, about whether they will have a place to park in front of their residence when the come home from work on an LVEC event night, and so on. These are all legitimate questions, and they need to be analyzed up front. That is what a Traffic Impact study does. But in every case, Mr Gordon says, don't worry, all those details will be worked out in Phase II. That is too late, and the measures taken or prescribed could be too painful and too disrupting. We need to know now.

Mr Gordon gave an example of a strategy. He said that perhaps the owner of a private lot would be told to clear his lot by 6:00 p.m. so that LVEC parkers would then be able to use the lot. Can you believe such an attitude? Can you believe that a professional traffic engineer could come into town and care less about the existing habits and needs of its citizens? A traffic engineer is supposed to try and fit a new parking demand into the existing fabric of a community, and to report on the impact that new parking demand will have in the community. He is supposed to respect what is presently occurring in the community, not push established customs aside in favour of something new.

Mr Gordon did a capacity analysis in Phase I of a post-game peak hour at the intersection of Wellington and Bay Streets, and he didn't include pedestrians - a serious oversight. What was his answer? His answer was that he would address this problem in Phase II. He said even more than this, but I will address all his comments in the next issue. His remarks were a put-off. If the analysis was originally done in Phase I, then the proper analysis needs to be redone in that same Phase.

I ask everyone involved to be thorough and honest about the traffic and parking information that is provided, and let's demand the best analysis we can get for our money, and report our findings and concerns pro AND con.

Thanks for listening, and don't forget - you are expected to comment if you have conflicting information.

Bruce.

Articles in the Daily Points on LVEC Traffic and Parking series

#1 - Concerns About the Content of Phase I (May 19)
#2 - No  Pedestrian Counts in Intersection Analysis (May 20)
#3 - A Discussion of the Two Adjacent Parking Lots (May 21)
#4 - Drop Off and Pick Up Mode of Access (May 22)
#5 - Display Maps (May 23)
#6 - The Anglin Parking Lot (May 24)
#7 - Reporting of Available On-Street Parking (May 25)
#8 - Determination of Mode of Travel (May 26)
#9 - Infrastructure and Management Requirements (May 27)
#10- Study Area and Study Data (May 28)
#11- Traffic Counts (May 29)
#12- Acceptable Walking Distance (May 30)
#13- Parking Availability and Key Factors (May 31)
#14- Clearance Time After an Event (June 1)