Google
Kingston Concerned About the LVEC
Currently known as the "KROCK Centre"
Formerly the "Kingston Regional Sports and Entertainment Centre" or KRSEC
Formerly the "Large Venue Entertainment Centre" or LVEC
Home   News
Daily Points on Traffic and Parking, #2
Failure to Include Pedestrian Counts in Intersection Analysis

Beginning May 19th, 2005, Bruce Todd, who is supposed to be retired from a 40+ year career in traffic engineering, but nonetheless branded an "instant expert" by several pro-LVEC luminaries, none loftier than William Leggett, ex-principal of Queen's University, is briefing everyone about the field, pointing out "features" of the full Phase I Traffic and Parking Study prepared by CastleGlenn Consultants , who were hand-picked by Don Gedge for their "keen understanding of the Wellington Street Corridor" (pages 13 and 16 therein). 

Articles in the Daily Points on LVEC Traffic and Parking series

#1 - Concerns About the Content of Phase I (May 19)
#2 - No  Pedestrian Counts in Intersection Analysis (May 20)
#3 - A Discussion of the Two Adjacent Parking Lots (May 21)
#4 - Drop Off and Pick Up Mode of Access (May 22)
#5 - Display Maps (May 23)
#6 - The Anglin Parking Lot (May 24)
#7 - Reporting of Available On-Street Parking (May 25)
#8 - Determination of Mode of Travel (May 26)
#9 - Infrastructure and Management Requirements (May 27)
#10- Study Area and Study Data (May 28)
#11- Traffic Counts (May 29)
#12- Acceptable Walking Distance (May 30)
#13- Parking Availability and Key Factors (May 31)
#14- Clearance Time After an Event (June 1)
From: Bruce Todd
To: "Gedge, Don" <dgedge@cityofkingston.ca>, Councillor S Garrison <sgarrison@cityofkingston.ca>, Councillor R Downes <rdownes@cityofkingston.ca>, Councillor L Foster <lfoster@cityofkingston.ca>, Councillor G Stoparczyk <gstoparczyk@cityofkingston.ca>, Councillor B Pater <bpater@cityofkingston.ca>, Mayor H Rosen <hrosen@cityofkingston.ca>, Councillor G Beavis <gbeavis@cityofkingston.ca>, Councillor K George <kgeorge@cityofkingston.ca>, Councillor G Sutherland <gsutherland@cityofkingston.ca>, Councillor F Patterson <fpatterson@cityofkingston.ca>, Councillor E Smith <esmith@cityofkingston.ca>, Councillor S Meers <smeers@cityofkingston.ca>, Councillor B George <bgeorge@cityofkingston.ca>
CC: "Hickey, Sheila" <SHickey@cityofkingston.ca>, "Baldwin, Derek" <dbaldwin@thewhig.com>, gwallace@cityofkingston.ca

Date: May 20, 2005, 8:11:42 AM
Subject:
Traffic and Parking, Phase I - Item #2

Failure to Include Pedestrian Counts in Intersection Analysis

Yesterday we talked about the consultant's failure to include pedestrians in his intersection capacity analysis at Wellington & Bay Street. Mr Arthur Gordon said he would include pedestrians in another analysis in Phase II.

Mr Gordon also said there wasn't any software out there to do a capacity analysis for a situation where traffic control personnel were actually controlling traffic through an intersection. That's a "You caught me with my hand in the cookie jar" answer. No one has asked Mr Gordon to analyze the capacity of the intersection under those conditions. One is simply saying that ALL components of the conflicting traffic movements should have been included in the analysis sheets for a post-game peak hour, and he left out the thousands of pedestrians the first time round. If he can do an analysis which includes pedestrians in Phase II, then he could have done that in Phase I as well. We shouldn't have to wait. This information should be part of the information supplied to Planning Committee. Then, let Planning Committee decide if this is a serious issue and must be corrected, or if it is of short enough duration to be tolerated. But let's state the facts.

Had Mr Gordon done the analysis using all proper variables, which includes pedestrians, the report would have shown that the intersection fails completely and there is total gridlock. Only after that analysis does one consider what type of traffic control to use to handle the situation. In this case, if the gridlock is only of very short duration and occurs infrequently, then emergency measures could be put in place, such as employing police officers. Then these measures could be translated into venue costs, and these costs could be factored in to the success or failure of the facility.

The point here is that the report has omitted telling you about a traffic problem, and that traffic problem could have major ongoing costs and safety issues associated with it. That bothers me as a professional, and it should bother you who depend on professionals to be forthright and give the best possible unbiased advice to you up front.

I would hate to think that there was any sort of deliberate attempt to keep a damning set of analysis sheets out of Phase I, which goes to Planning Committee, and put them in Phase II, which doesn't go to Planning Committee. That kind of thinking must stop right now.

Thanks for listening.

Bruce.

P.S. Not only does the intersection of Wellington Street at Bay Street fail in terms of its ability to handle the demand of vehicles and pedestrians during a post-event peak hour, but many other intersections in the area fail as well. Mr Gordon has identified 7 intersections that fail and will require police control, and it is suggested that one officer per intersection approach would be needed, up to 25 officers, plus officers at the exits to parking lots at OHIP, at Barrack Lot, and at Frontenac Lot.

Articles in the Daily Points on LVEC Traffic and Parking series

#1 - Concerns About the Content of Phase I (May 19)
#2 - No  Pedestrian Counts in Intersection Analysis (May 20)
#3 - A Discussion of the Two Adjacent Parking Lots (May 21)
#4 - Drop Off and Pick Up Mode of Access (May 22)
#5 - Display Maps (May 23)
#6 - The Anglin Parking Lot (May 24)
#7 - Reporting of Available On-Street Parking (May 25)
#8 - Determination of Mode of Travel (May 26)
#9 - Infrastructure and Management Requirements (May 27)
#10- Study Area and Study Data (May 28)
#11- Traffic Counts (May 29)
#12- Acceptable Walking Distance (May 30)
#13- Parking Availability and Key Factors (May 31)
#14- Clearance Time After an Event (June 1)