Google
Kingston Concerned About the LVEC
Currently known as the "KROCK Centre"
Formerly the "Kingston Regional Sports and Entertainment Centre" or KRSEC
Formerly the "Large Venue Entertainment Centre" or LVEC
Home   News
Daily Points on Anglin Bay Site Traffic and Parking, #10
Study Area and Study Data

Beginning May 19th, 2005, Bruce Todd, who is supposed to be retired from a 40+ year career in traffic engineering, but nonetheless branded an "instant expert" by several pro-LVEC luminaries, none loftier than William Leggett, ex-principal of Queen's University, is briefing everyone about the field, pointing out "features" of the full Phase I Traffic and Parking Study prepared by CastleGlenn Consultants , who were hand-picked by Don Gedge for their "keen understanding of the Wellington Street Corridor" (pages 13 and 16 therein). 

Articles in the Daily Points on LVEC Traffic and Parking series

#1 - Concerns About the Content of Phase I (May 19)
#2 - No  Pedestrian Counts in Intersection Analysis (May 20)
#3 - A Discussion of the Two Adjacent Parking Lots (May 21)
#4 - Drop Off and Pick Up Mode of Access (May 22)
#5 - Display Maps (May 23)
#6 - The Anglin Parking Lot (May 24)
#7 - Reporting of Available On-Street Parking (May 25)
#8 - Determination of Mode of Travel (May 26)
#9 - Infrastructure and Management Requirements (May 27)
#10- Study Area and Study Data (May 28)
#11- Traffic Counts (May 29)
#12- Acceptable Walking Distance (May 30)
#13- Parking Availability and Key Factors (May 31)
#14- Clearance Time After an Event (June 1)
From: Bruce Todd
To: "Gedge, Don" <dgedge@cityofkingston.ca>, Councillor S Garrison <sgarrison@cityofkingston.ca>, Councillor R Downes <rdownes@cityofkingston.ca>, Councillor L Foster <lfoster@cityofkingston.ca>, Councillor G Stoparczyk <gstoparczyk@cityofkingston.ca>, Councillor B Pater <bpater@cityofkingston.ca>, Mayor H Rosen <hrosen@cityofkingston.ca>, Councillor G Beavis <gbeavis@cityofkingston.ca>, Councillor K George <kgeorge@cityofkingston.ca>, Councillor G Sutherland <gsutherland@cityofkingston.ca>, Councillor F Patterson <fpatterson@cityofkingston.ca>, Councillor E Smith <esmith@cityofkingston.ca>, Councillor S Meers <smeers@cityofkingston.ca>, Councillor B George <bgeorge@cityofkingston.ca>
CC: "Hickey, Sheila" <SHickey@cityofkingston.ca>, "Baldwin, Derek" <dbaldwin@thewhig.com>, gwallace@cityofkingston.ca

Date: Sat, 28 May 2005 08:00:59
Subject: [KCAL] LVEC Traffic & Parking - Item #10    

Study Area and Study Data

At the bottom of page 1 of CastleGlenn's Traffic & Parking Report Phase I (TPRPI), Mr Arthur Gordon tells us that the study area is bounded by Princess Street, Division Street, Stephen Street/River Street, and the Cataraqui River. See Exhibit 1.1 on page 2. This encloses a primary and secondary study area.

This posed a few problems for me. How could the report be complete without looking at the impact on ALL of the downtown parking needs? How could the report be complete without looking at transit routes? How could the report be complete without looking at outlying parking areas to be serviced by shuttle buses? How could the report be complete and considerate of all of the other activities that go on in the downtown during the day and at night?

Then on page 5, I noted that data for traffic and pedestrians along Brock Street and along Johnson Street was collected. That's outside the study area.

Then I came across Exhibit 3.8 on page 39. Here we have new study areas, incompletely mapped out but appearing to cover the entire downtown and even as far as somewhere south of Block D.

Just what area and data did this report cover in a comprehensive and cohesive manner? ANOTHER EXAMPLE OF AMATEUR WORK.

The report didn't study pedestrian flows before and after an event at the proposed LVEC!

The report didn't study traffic flows out of the city and across the Causeway after an event!

The report didn't study infrastructure needs!

The report didn't study the effect of concurrent events in the downtown!

The report didn't study morning and afternoon parking demand in the downtown!

The report didn't study summer traffic in the downtown!

The report didn't study the effect of LVEC parking on other users of the downtown amenities!

The report didn't study Friday night traffic around the proposed LVEC site!

If the report did study any of this stuff, where is the discussion and analysis in the report?

Oh, I forgot. This is only the unimportant Phase I of the study. We wouldn't want the Planning Committee to know the truth about any of this stuff.

Talking about Friday night traffic, you do not want to miss tomorrow's shocking item on TRAFFIC COUNTS!

Bruce.

P.S. Feedback notes (excluding congrats) to date - from local citizens = 18 ; from city hall, council, or other = 1

Articles in the Daily Points on LVEC Traffic and Parking series

#1 - Concerns About the Content of Phase I (May 19)
#2 - No  Pedestrian Counts in Intersection Analysis (May 20)
#3 - A Discussion of the Two Adjacent Parking Lots (May 21)
#4 - Drop Off and Pick Up Mode of Access (May 22)
#5 - Display Maps (May 23)
#6 - The Anglin Parking Lot (May 24)
#7 - Reporting of Available On-Street Parking (May 25)
#8 - Determination of Mode of Travel (May 26)
#9 - Infrastructure and Management Requirements (May 27)
#10- Study Area and Study Data (May 28)
#11- Traffic Counts (May 29)
#12- Acceptable Walking Distance (May 30)
#13- Parking Availability and Key Factors (May 31)
#14- Clearance Time After an Event (June 1)